Jyotirlingas Jyotirlinga or Jyotirling or Jyotirlingam is a shrine dedicated to Lord Shiva where Shiva is worshipped in the form of a Jyotirlingam or "Lingam of Light". There are said to be twelve Jyotirlinga shrines in India although their location is not consistently identified. The Jyotirlingas look like any other Shiva Linga. However, it is believed that a person who has attained a certain degree of spirituality sees these lingas as columns of fire piercing through the earth.

The Twelve Jyotirlingas
There are 12 famous Jyotirlingas where Lord Shiva appeared in the form of light (Jyothi) lingam. These have been worshipped from time immemorial. They are mentioned in the Dwadasa Jyotirlinga Stotra and are enshrined in following temples. Please click on the links to know more about the significance of each of these Jyotirlingas.
  1. Somnath Temple in Gujarat
  2. Mallikarjun Temple in Andhra pradesh
  3. Mahakaleshwara Temple in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh
  4. Omkareshwar Temple in Madhya Pradesh
  5. Vaidyanath Temple in Deogarh, Bihar
  6. Bhimashankar Temple near Pune in Maharashtra
  7. Rameshwaram Temple in Tamil Nadu
  8. Nageshwar Temple in Dwarka, Gujarat
  9. Vishwanath Temple in Varanasi
  10. Trimbakeshwar Temple in Nasik, Maharashtra
  11. Kedarnath Temple in Himalayas
  12. Grishneshwar Temple in Daulatabad, Maharashtra

Post a comment